Our Cold War

Today was an uneasy reminder:

“Why don’t you sit here?”

“Because she’s there.”

 

History driving a wedge between us –

remember when we talked?

I wonder if she kept that drawing.

 

I was in the eye,

it took me ten to figure,

then tongues wagged,

civility severed –

all gone forever.

 

Slowly roles reversed;

you grew overt,

I shrank away,

but clearly I’m not alone.

 

At the time I thought it would blow over,

I guess I should’ve told her

because now every time we lock eyes,

your smile fades,

my stomach drops.

 

Yeah, I guess I should’ve told you

but maybe nothing would’ve changed.

 

– Nix

Notes: featured image not mine

This poem is set in high school.

Edit: Why wordpress likes to mess up the line/paragraph spacing is beyond me. (And yes, I changed the order of the stanzas and added a few lines – I can be very indecisive, sorry…)

Song: We Don’t Talk Anymore by Charlie Puth ft. Selena Gomez (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3AtDnEC4zak)

Leave a Reply

